Allegaeon launch mini-documentary for ‘Proponent For Sentience’

ALLEGAEON are set to unleash their new record, Proponent For Sentience, next week and the band has now launched a mini-documentary about the record!

The documentary, available to view below, gives fans a behind the scenes look at the creation of the new album with footage shown from the studio. The record was produced by Dave Otero [CATTLE DECAPITATION].

Watch the mini-documentary for the making of Proponent For Sentience here:

The new record is the first to feature new vocalist Riley McShane who joined the band following the departure of Ezra Haynes in 2015. Like their past records, Proponent For Sentience continues ALLEGAEON‘s exploration of all things science-fiction. Speaking about the themes on the new album, guitarist Greg Burgess tells Distorted Sound, “the whole thing is actually based of a Stephen Hawking interview that he did, I guess it is actually two interviews, one he did with the BBC and then one he did with John Oliver here in the States. The John Oliver one, that guy is a riot so that’s more comedic, but Stephen had to say was very poignant and it tied in with the one he did with the BBC. It was just his theories on artificial intelligence and if technology ever gained sentience, they aren’t a biological entity. So the fact that they can just take note of their flaws and fix them immediately and replicate. Their evolution would be so much faster than humanity, humanity couldn’t keep up and maybe they would come to the realisation that humanity kind of sucks! [laughs] There are so many negative attributes to humanity that they might very well say that we are a detriment to this planet and they’d say for the betterment of the world, it is time for you go. That’s the storyline. It is a time lapse of us needing it to help with exploration and medicine to it being the second movement where it gains a little bit of sentience and it’s getting co-opted into military use, basically humanity putting its negative attributes onto it. And then the third movement, the extermination, where it decides to overwrite the three laws of robotics and goes “it is time for you guys to go.”

Proponent For Sentience Tracklist:

01. Proponent for Sentience I – The Conception
02. All Hail Science
03. From Nothing
04. Gray Matter Mechanics – Apassionata Ex Machinea
05. Of Mind and Matrix
06. Proponent for Sentience II – The Algorithm
07. Demons of an Intricate Design
08. Terrathaw and the Quake
09. Cognitive Computations
10. The Arbiters
11. Proponent for Sentience III – The Extermination
12. Subdivisions

Proponent for Sentience - Allegaeon

Proponent For Sentience is set for release on September 23rd via Metal Blade Records.

For more information on ALLEGAEON like their official page on Facebook.