Iron Maiden release first single Speed of Light!

Iron Maiden (1975 gegründete britische Hard-Rock- und Heavy-Metal-Band)  "Maiden England European"-Tour Iron Maiden besteht aus: Bruce Dickinson (Gesang, 1981–1993 und seit 1999), Dave Murray (Gitarre, 1976 und seit 1977), Adrian Smith (Gitarre, 1980–1989 und seit 1999), Janick Gers (Gitarre, seit 1990), Steve Harris (Bass) und Nicko McBrain (Schlagzeug, seit 1982) am 06. Juni 2013 Open Air an der Arena Oberhausen
Image credit – Ullstein Bild

After five years of waiting, British heavy metal icons IRON MAIDEN have released the first single off of their upcoming sixteenth album, The Book of Souls, titled Speed of Light.

The track comes just weeks before the albums release, September 4 and has already taken the world by storm.

The Book of Souls was originally put back due to the cancer diagnosis of front-man Bruce Dickinson, who now thankfully has the all clear.

The album marks the longest gap in studio releases of IRON MAIDEN‘s career at five years since it’s predecessor, The Final Frontier.

Speed of Light was written by Bruce Dickinson and guitarist Adrian Smith.

Check out the fantastic new IRON MAIDEN single below, let’s just say it’s been on repeat a fair few times at Distorted Sound too!

Now the countdown begins and we can’t wait!

The Book of Souls is set for release September 4 via Parlophone and Sanctuary Records.




Jessica Howkins

Co Editor-in-Chief for Distorted Sound Magazine, Music Journalism student.