Iron Maiden to release Speed of Light as first single


British heavy metal legends, IRON MAIDEN will release Speed of Light as the first single from their upcoming 16th studio album, The Book of Souls.

The single will be made available on August 14.

The track, is the first time guitarist Adrian Smith and vocalist Bruce Dickinson have written together without bassist Steve Harris since MAIDEN’s classic album, Powerslave in 1984.

The Book of Souls will be released worldwide on September 4 through Parlophone Records. The album was recorded in Paris with their longstanding producer Kevin ‘Caveman’ Shirley in late 2014, with finishing touches added earlier this year. IRON MAIDEN decided to delay its release so vocalist Bruce Dickinson would have time to recuperate after recently being given the all-clear from a cancerous tumour.


The track-listing for The Book of Souls is as follows:

Disc 1

01. If Eternity Should Fail(Dickinson) 8:28
02. Speed Of Light (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:01
03. The Great Unknown (Smith/ Harris) 6:37
04. The Red And The Black (Harris) 13:33
05. When The River Runs Deep (Smith/ Harris) 5:52
06. The Book Of Souls (Gers/ Harris) 10:27

Disc 2

07. Death Or Glory(Smith/ Dickinson) 5:13
08. Shadows Of The Valley (Gers/ Harris) 7:32
09. Tears Of A Clown (Smith/ Harris) 4:59
10. The Man Of Sorrows (Murray/ Harris) 6:28
11. Empire Of The Clouds (Dickinson) 18:01

Jessica Howkins

Co Editor-in-Chief for Distorted Sound Magazine, Music Journalism student.