Mastodon announce new album ‘Emperor of Sand’

MASTODON have announced a brand new studio record!

Coming three years after Once More ‘Round The Sun, the Atlanta outfit will release their seventh studio record, titled Emperor of Sand, in March this year. Speaking about the concept of the new record, drummer/vocalist Brann Dailor says, Emperor of Sand is like the grim reaper. Sand represents time. If you or anyone you know has ever received a terminal diagnosis, the first thought is about time. Invariably, you ask, ‘How much time is left?’” Bassist/vocalist Troy Sanders adds, “we’re reflecting on mortality. To that end, the album ties into our entire discography. It’s 17 years in the making, but it’s also a direct reaction to the last two years. We tend to draw inspiration from very real things in our lives.”

The upcoming album was recorded at The Quarry Recording Studio in Kennesaw, just outside the band’s hometown of Atlanta, with producer Brendan O’Brien (PEARL JAM, NEIL YOUNG, AC/DC, RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE). Alongside the announcement of the new album, the band have also released the first single from the upcoming album. Listen to Sultan’s Curse here:

View the track list and artwork for Emperor of Sand below:

  1. Sultan’s Curse
  2. Show Yourself
  3. Precious Stones
  4. Steambreather
  5. Roots Remain
  6. Word To The Wise
  7. Ancient Kingdom
  8. Clandestiny
  9. Andromeda
  10. Scorpion Breath
  11. Jaguar God

Emperor of Sand - Mastodon

Emproer of Sand is set for release on March 31st via Reprise Records.

For more information on MASTODON like their official page on Facebook.