Obituary announce new self-titled album

Florida death metal heavyweights OBITUARY have announced a brand new studio record!

The band’s upcoming self-titled tenth record, scheduled for release in March, comes three years after 2014’s Inked In Blood and was recorded at the band’s home studio in Tampa. Speaking about the upcoming record, vocalist John Tardy says, “when writing records the song titles and album titles are always the last things on our minds. We know that the songs themselves are the most important thing, so with this our 10th studio album and nearly three decades as a band, we thought it was the perfect time for a self-titled release. It always helps to have a killer album cover so we worked with Andreas Marschall, gave him our ideas and thoughts and asked him to break out the big guns to create an epic logo and he delivered like he always has for OBITUARY.”

Continuing, the band further comments, “We could not be any more excited about this new album. We had a blast writing and recording it and having Ken and Terry as part of the writing process was a very cool experience for all of us. We really took our time with the writing process of these new songs, recording riffs and ideas as we went along and recording them as rough mixes then listening back and making necessary changes to help mold them into the songs that we are extremely proud of. It’s always a challenge in the studio to get the song ideas out of your head onto the recording the way you want but we made sure we were comfortable with the songs and the sounds we were getting before we even hit the record button and it made it a great experience. It’s hard to believe it’s been 2 1/2 years since the release of Inked In Blood and we are so excited to get this new album into the hands of our fans. Can’t wait for everyone to hear it, hang on to your ass!!!!”

Alongside the announcement for the new record, the band has also released the track list and artwork for the upcoming album. Both of which are available to view below:

Track list:

1.  Brave
2.  Sentence Day
3.  Lesson In Vengeance
4.  End It Now
5.  Kneel Before Me
6.  It Lives
7.  Betrayed
8.  Turned To Stone
9.  Straight To Hell
10. Ten Thousand Ways To Die

Obituary - Obituary

Obituary is set for release on March 17th via Relapse Records.

For more information on OBITUARY like their official page on Facebook.