Katatonia announce new album & reveal new lineup

Katatonia 2016 Lineup

WORDS: Jack Fermor-Worrell

KATATONIA have announced their new lineup and the first details of their upcoming tenth studio album!

The Swedish metallers announced today that the album, entitled The Fall of Hearts, will be released on the 20th May 2016 through their long-time label Peaceville Records. The album will mark the debut of new drummer Daniel ’Mojjo’ Moilanen and recently recruited guitarist Roger Öjersson, also of Stockholm band TIAMAT.

“This album is probably everything we unknowingly ever dreamed of to release”, say KATATONIA in a statement, “It’s a bleak but adventurous journey through our elements, we haven’t held back, we have pushed to get forward and backward in the ever spiralling night of our musical legacy.”

Their first new music since 2012’s Dead End Kings, the album was was recorded at Stockholm’s Studio Gröndahl & Tri-lamb Studio, and was self-produced by guitaris Anders Nyström & vocalist Jonas Renkse. Mixing and mastering duties were carried out by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios, with Karl Daniel Lidén brought in as engineer.

KATATONIA have also confirmed the following festival appearances for 2016:

12/03/16 – Sweden, Gothenburg – Metal Town Festival

29/04/16 – Norway, Kopervik – Karmoygeddon Festival

19/06/16 –France, Clisson –  Hellfest

03/07/16 – Finland, Helsinki – Tuska Festival

9-10/07/16 – Belgium, Bouckenborgh – Anterwerp Metal Festival

05/08/16 – Portugal, Corroios-  Vagos Open Air Festival,

17-20/08/2016 –Germany, Dinkelsbühl – Summer Breeze Festival

Katatonia - The Fall Of Hearts Cover