Rivers of Nihil announce new album ‘Where Owls Know My Name’

RIVERS OF NIHIL have announced a brand new album!

The upcoming album, titled Where Owls Know My Name, is the third effort from the band and is scheduled to be released in March this year! The album was produced by Carson Slovak (AUGUST BURNS RED, THE LAST TEN SECONDS OF LIFE) and speaking about the upcoming album, guitarist Brody Uttley says, “this record is RIVERS OF NIHIL being exactly who we want to be. Many bands get stuck in a comfortable routine of releasing the same album over and over again. Constantly relying on the same familiar formula may work for some bands, but it does not work for us. Music is art, and art is ever-changing. Without change, there is no progress. Without progress, the very fire that powers art and expression will die. This record is the sound of where we come from, where we are, and where we are going.” Bassist/vocalist Adam Biggs adds, “this time around, the lyrics feel a little more personal than on previous albums. The story picks up several millennia after the events of Monarchy, where one person still remains alive, chosen by the planet to be the sole intelligent witness of its ultimate fate. But Where Owls Know My Name is less about overarching narrative than our previous albums. The scenario is just a backdrop for the more emotional material we tried to put forth this time around. Ultimately, this is an album about loss, getting older, and reaching a point where death becomes a much more present part of your life.” 

Alongside the announcement of the new album, the band have released the first single from the forthcoming record; titled The Silent Life.

Listen to The Silent Life here:

Also, you can view both the track list and artwork for the upcoming album. The album artwork was created by Dan Seagrave (ENTOMBEDSUFFOCATION). Both of which are available to view below:

Track List:

1. Cancer / Moonspeak
2. The Silent Life
3. A Home
4. Old Nothing
5. Subtle Change (Including the Forest of Transition
6. Terrestria III: Wither
7. Hollow
8. Death Is Real
9. Where Owls Know My Name
10. Capricorn / Agoratopia

Where Owls Know My Name - Rivers of Nihil

Where Owls Know My Name is set for release on March 16th via Metal Blade Records.

For more information on RIVERS OF NIHIL like their official page on Facebook.