First track premiere from new Départe album

Australian black metallers, DÉPARTE, have released the first track from their new vitriolic album, Failure, Subside, due on October 14. Vessel can be streamed via Terrorizer here.

Sam Dishington (frontman) has spoken about the track: “Our new track Vessel is a reaction to deeply entrenched feelings of isolation and futility. It deals with the despair of being stranded in that place, that void, and even still finding peace, stillness, and victory, drawing you out into the light. From a musical standpoint, Vessel is quite broad, touching on many of the elements you can expect to hear throughout the rest of the album. Dark, crushing and dissonant, yet in the same breath powerful and emotive.”

About the album it has been said: “Darkness descends, physically oppressive, a heavy weight on the chest. Black tendrils probing, intruding, coldness seeps into skull and bones. Pain and a crushing despair grip the soul. Yet this bleak onslaught is as precise as methodical. A grim determination drives this spike deep into the heart. With their debut album Failure, Subside, DÉPARTE set a new benchmark for musical viciousness.”

The previously released cover art, featured below, is by Alistair Davis of Zac Blain, but has been edited by Sam Dishington and Mickael Rankine.

DÉPARTE album cover

Failure, Subside’s track listing:

1. Seas of Glass
2. Ashes in Bloom
3. Wither
4. Grief Echoes (Golden Scars)
5. Mara’s Choir
6. Vessel
7. Ruin

ØRANNIS was the bands original name when they formed in 2011 in Hobart, Tasmania as a black metal quartet. Their original aim was to create a hypnotic live performance with undertones of brooding atmosphere. As they added a second guitarist, their overall sound developed. Their sound continued to change, along with the look as the band shed their face paint and integrated aspects of many other genres, including post metal, drone, doom, and death metal. Their demo MMXIV, released towards the end of 2014, contained two tracks, yet was enough for DÉPARTE to receive tour invitations from bands, both local and international, such as NE OBLIVISCARIS, PORTAL, GORGUTS, ULCERATE, to name a few. Their album, Failure, Subside is just the next step of their massive journey, get ready for the assault that is coming.

DÉPARTE Australian tour dates are below:

Failure, Subside is set for release October 14 via Season of Mist.

Like DÉPARTE on Facebook.